Next Stop – Pastry Gems

So glad everyone has liked my dessert posts 🙂 Wasn’t sure if you were going to get a little sick of just seeing cake and desserts 😛 I’m sorry that this post is a little late and you may have noticed I’ve been a little quiet on Twitter and Facebook ~ Dad had surprised me with a graduation trip to Taiwan again so I have limited access for the next couple of days, promise to get back to comments and emails as soon as I can ~

Taking you to the Pastry Gems at the Ritz Carlton with me today, be prepared this post is going to be full of pictures of desserts YAY!  I love eating desserts with anyone, but particularly like going with dessert-lovers and bloggers because they understand why we need to take so many photos of a cake and alway orders more cake. That’s why I was thrilled when Ah Ling from Chocolate Mui Mui asked if I wanted to check out the cakes at Pastry Gems with her. It turned out to be tasting event but I’ll tell you more about that later ~

Heaven ~

Pastry Gems is the cafe near the entrance of the Ritz Carlton hotel, and even though I’ve gone pass the cafe many times, I didn’t know they had so many cakes. Freshly made every day, they have around 6 to 7 desserts for customers to choose from, and of course we got every single cake they had 😀

Never ending desserts 🙂

It was basically a never-ending story of desserts 🙂 I was super excited about trying every single one of them ~ they’re all so pretty 🙂

Let’s start with the light and fruity desserts ~

Mango Verrine $48HKD ($5.86AUD) +10% service charge

The Mango Verrine, a nice simple dessert with a few layers, first a layer of diced mango, then mango mousse, mango pudding topped with some more diced mango and finished with a thin sugar crisp. I was surprised the mangos were so sweet as they aren’t in season right now here in HK.

Green Tea and Raspberry $48HKD ($5.86AUD) +10% service charge

Next was the Green Tea and Raspberry ~ I’ve noticed many pastry chefs in HK like moulding their cakes into ‘spheres’ 😛

More of a mousse cake ~

Basically a mousse cake with a thin layer of green tea sponge cake as the base, then green tea mousse, a very thin layer of raspberry jelly then more green tea mousse. The whole cake was then sprayed with green tea powder 🙂 I love matcha flavoured desserts and especially those with a strong punch of green tea flavour. The green tea mousse was very delicious, however, the raspberry jelly was quite sour and with the slight bitterness of the matcha, I didn’t really like it.

Now to the chocolatey and rich desserts 🙂

Pot de Creme $48HKD ($5.86AUD) +10% service charge

Started with the Pot de Creme, it had a very silky texture and was definitely very chocolately, as her blog name suggests Chocolate Mui Mui really liked this dessert, one of her favourite ~ I don’t particularly like Pot de Cremes, but thought this was nice too very rich and comforting.

Jivara Apricot $48HKD ($5.86AUD) +10% service charge

Not quite sure why it’s called Jivara ~ couldn’t find an answer online either, it’s basically a chocolate mousse with an apricot compote as the base and the little tube of ‘toothpaste’ is in fact fresh Apricot jam 🙂

I’ve never really had a dessert that has both apricots and chocolate, and instead of being really rich…this dessert was surprisingly light ~ It also had a taste that resembled yoghurt, I think it’s because the slight tanginess of the apricot which balances out the sweetness of the chocolate. Perfect dessert for those who don’t really have a sweet tooth hehe

Chocolate Passion $48HKD ($5.86AUD) +10% service charge

This was my favourite ~ because I really like hazelnut flavoured desserts, it had a hazelnut sable as a base, a thin layer of caramel or vanilla mousse (sorry don’t remember), a layer of chocolate mousse, then covered in a thin layer of chocolate and garnished with a little macaron ~ The whole cake made sense to me hahaha the flavours all matched really well and I loved the crunchiness of the base ~

Mont Blanc $48HKD ($5.86AUD) +10% service charge

Unlike the one I had at Ariel Le Cafe, the chestnut puree here was delectable and light 🙂 and I enjoyed eating it ~ but still not my favourite, sorry to all those Mont Blanc fans out there .

Chocolate and Banana $48HKD ($5.86AUD) +10% service charge

Sorry everyone, not sure of the name of this cake, when I went back to write the names down they had sold out of this cake and removed the label.

Banana puree yum ~

Once again a mousse type cake with thin layers of chocolate cake layered in between and in the middle they placed banana puree, yum yum ~ definitely love chocolate and banana cakes 🙂 Very soft and velvety in the mouth and this was slightly richer and sweeter than the other dessert which is perfect for me~

That was the 7 cakes 🙂 but that’s not it hahaha they also had macarons! You never say no to macarons 😛

Assorted macarons $20HKD($2.5AUD) each +10% service charge

They only have 5 flavours – (from the left) chocolate and orange, orange, black truffle, pistachio and raspberry ~ we both had one each hehe these macarons were the firmer type with a thick layer of filling. My favourite would have to be the chocolate and orange, adore jaffa flavoured sweets and the filling was delicious! My next favourite would have to be pistachio ~ and it was the softest macaron and again melts in your mouth. It wasn’t really my least favourite but the black truffle was definitely something unique and I’ve never had a savoury macaron. The taste reminds me of a ‘cream of mushroom’ soup hahaha don’t get me wrong the black truffle itself was very fragrant…I’m just not sure I like it in a sweet macaron~ but a must-try for those who dare 😛

We’re not done yet ~ because Pastry Gem also has an assortment of pastries which they also bake every day, they have things like croissants, danishes and muffins.

Assorted pastries ranging from $18-$22HKD ($2.2-$2.8AUD) each plus 10% service charge

I was pretty stuffed after all that cake and macarons, but it was Ah Ling’s first meal so she was still a little hungry so she couldn’t help but get a triple chocolate muffin ~ I think prices here are quite reasonable given that it is a 5 star hotel and most cafes now charge $25 to $35HKD for a muffin.

Tripple Chocolate Muffin $20HKD ($2.5AUD) +10% service charge

I’ve tried this last time I was at Pastry Gems and we both agree that this muffin was definitely full of chocolate ~ only downfall was the waitress had forgotten to reheat it before serving it 🙂

This was supposed to be a quiet get together between Ah Ling and myself, however, it eventually became a tasting event because Bonnie and Peggy from the PR department at Ritz Carlton, which we know show our Facebook check-in and decided to pop down to come say hi to us. Unbeknownst to us, Peggy had settled the bill for us without telling us! Would like to say a huge thank you to Peggy for treating us and that you didn’t need to do that~

Daisy@Nevertoosweet and Ah Ling dined as a guest of Ritz Carlton Hong Kong.

Pastry Gems Ritz Carlton Hotel
9/F, The Ritz-Carlton Hong Kong,
International Commerce Centre,
1 Austin Road West, Tsim Sha Tsui 

香港麗思卡爾頓酒店9樓
1號環球貿易廣場(ICC)
尖沙咀柯士甸道西
PH: 2263 2230 

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

44 thoughts on “Next Stop – Pastry Gems

  1. Ann Jasmine March 18, 2012 at 1:39 am Reply

    LOVE this post. Had me getting closer to the screen in some sort of attempt to taste the dessert through the monitor.

    • Daisy@Nevertoosweet March 18, 2012 at 9:58 pm Reply

      Hello Ann Jasmine 🙂 thanks for dropping by my blog ~ glad you enjoyed this post as much as I enjoyed writing it! I love making everyone else want the desserts as much as I do hehe

  2. Norma Chang March 18, 2012 at 2:03 am Reply

    Did you eat all those cakes in one sitting? Where did you put them all?

    • Daisy@Nevertoosweet March 18, 2012 at 9:59 pm Reply

      Hahaha yes Norma I shared all those cakes and had 5 macarons in one go 🙂 I put them all in my ever growing stomach ~

  3. Jo@jocooks.com March 18, 2012 at 6:00 am Reply

    Hi Daisy,
    Thanks for stopping by my blog. This is my first time checking out your blog and I love it!

    • Daisy@Nevertoosweet March 18, 2012 at 10:01 pm Reply

      Hello Jo 🙂 Thanks for coming to my blog ~ Glad to hear that you enjoy reading my posts ~ are you a dessert lover too/?

  4. Flick Your Food March 18, 2012 at 10:02 am Reply

    Wow you were able to eat all those- My hero. The green tea and rasberry cake looks amazing- Could you get them to send one to Sydney ASAP 🙂 I love desserts- so please keep blogging about them.

    • Daisy@Nevertoosweet March 18, 2012 at 10:03 pm Reply

      Thanks for dropping by my blog 🙂 Definitely able to eat all the cakes and probably be able to eat more if I had a 30 minute break hahaha i’m a little obsessed ~ not sure that I’d be able to send you any but what if I go hunt you some good places for dessert next time I go to sydney 😀

  5. Miss Kimbers @ Fruit Salad and Mixed Veg March 18, 2012 at 11:17 am Reply

    I NEED TO GO TO HONG KONG NOW! 🙂
    I like the green tea cake, looks like it is made of carpet on the outside, as it looks a little fuzzy and not all smooth hehe. I like how each cake is unique and is pleasing to the eye.
    Keep up the great blogging:)

    • Daisy@Nevertoosweet March 18, 2012 at 10:04 pm Reply

      Yes you do Kim 😀 you’ve gotta jump on a plane and come right away hehe or wait till I go next time and I’ll take you around ~ I really like the outside bit of the green tea and the cake itself but really didn’t like the raspberry puree much 😛

      Thanks for the support ~

  6. Rice Bowl Tales March 18, 2012 at 8:19 pm Reply

    Lovely desserts!! It really is a sweet heaven! Were there a lot of other customers doing the tasting too? Can people walk in or they have to book? I love the photo with the long row of desserts, parade all the way down to the other side of the table, a very nice shot 😀

    • Daisy@Nevertoosweet March 18, 2012 at 10:05 pm Reply

      Thanks Jane 🙂 I have to admit lol Chocolate Mui Mui is a much better photographer and she helped organise the desserts for the shoot. But it’s definitely one of my favourites too ~ Just seeing all the desserts makes me SO happy!!

      You don’t need to book just walk in and there should be a table 🙂 and we were the only ones there eating all the cakes lol others were just having one or two cakes lol

  7. Lorraine @ Not Quite Nigella March 18, 2012 at 11:39 pm Reply

    Hi Daisy, you mentioned Jivara and Valrhona has a chocolate called Jivara. This is from their website: “Valrhona’s Jivara is created using cocoa from Ecuador and is a smooth and mild mannered milk chocolate with added malt and brown sugar. The 40% cocoa content provides an easy eating milk chocolate with a creamy texture and light finish.”

    • Daisy@Nevertoosweet March 19, 2012 at 12:50 am Reply

      Thanks Lorraine 🙂 Knew I could always count on you to fill in the gaps for me ~ hmmm i don’t remember it had any malt or brown sugar flavour but it was still nice either way hehe

  8. Nic@diningwithastud March 19, 2012 at 11:47 am Reply

    Did you eat all of those? You are my hero!!!! 😉

    • Daisy@Nevertoosweet March 20, 2012 at 3:35 am Reply

      Yup yup ate every single one of them 😛 YAY I love being people’s dessert hero ~

  9. Baker Street (@bakerstreet29) March 20, 2012 at 12:09 am Reply

    Lovely post Daisy! Did you get to everything you photograph?

    • Daisy@Nevertoosweet March 20, 2012 at 3:35 am Reply

      Thank you 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed reading it hehe i got to eat everything woo hoo! So happy!

  10. Faith March 20, 2012 at 4:37 am Reply

    LOVE this post, Daisy! So many divine treats here…I love how you guys ordered all of their cakes to try — a girl after my own heart! 😉 I’d like to try them all too, lol! Hope you have a wonderful time in Taiwan!

    • Daisy@Nevertoosweet March 20, 2012 at 4:44 am Reply

      Thanks Faith 🙂 I’m back in Hk for a couple of days then finally back to Melbourne hehe I was so lucky to find someone who was just as crazy as me and be willing to eat so much cake with me 😛 Sorry I’ve missed reading your posts lately!

  11. Reem | Simply Reem March 20, 2012 at 7:02 am Reply

    OK I am so so jealous if you have tried all these wonderful deliciousness all alone…. 😉
    What a lovely read, trust me I tried my best to steal some of these treats through my monitor…. Failed …LOL

    • Daisy@Nevertoosweet March 21, 2012 at 3:57 am Reply

      Hahhaa I wish I could send you one of the cakes physically and not just virtually 😀

  12. andy1076 March 20, 2012 at 12:36 pm Reply

    Wah…now I really AM jealous! I wish I had a chance to try these 😦

    • Daisy@Nevertoosweet March 21, 2012 at 3:58 am Reply

      You’ve gotta come to HK then 🙂 you’ll have so much fun eating the cakes hehe ~ I didn’t know you were a dessert lover 😛 I thought u were a gym junkie hahaha

  13. hotlyspiced March 20, 2012 at 10:06 pm Reply

    How lovely of your father to give you such a wonderful graduation present. I hope you have a good time and come back with some great posts for all of us who have never been to Taiwan xx

    • Daisy@Nevertoosweet March 21, 2012 at 3:59 am Reply

      Thanks Charlie 🙂 i’m back in Hk for a couple of days before I finally go back to Melbourne ~ I’m definitely going to try and blog and keep everyone updated! have soooo many things to share with you guys 😀 hope you’ve been well too!

  14. libishski March 20, 2012 at 11:15 pm Reply

    Haha i know I’ve said that I’m not a dessert fan but every single one of these dessert look amazing. I’d be tempted to buy them all for myself! The green tea and raspberry one looks like the Incredible Hulk haha.

    • Daisy@Nevertoosweet March 21, 2012 at 4:00 am Reply

      Hahhaaha that’s such a contradiction 😛 you’re not a dessert fan but still want the cakes hehe but that’s good!!! Maybe we WILL get along eventually hahhaha 😀 LOL I love how you’ve described it ~ I use to call a friend of mine Hulk cuz he was tall and big and fuzzy looking ~

  15. Choc Chip Uru March 21, 2012 at 5:52 am Reply

    All these dishes look simply beautiful! I could stare at them all day 😀
    Especially the mont blanc… OMG gorgeous!

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

    • Daisy@Nevertoosweet March 21, 2012 at 8:50 pm Reply

      Hahhaa i could stare at them all day too yum yum yum 🙂 Oh so many people are fans of mont blancs too bad we don’t get them in melb 😦

  16. catty (@catty) March 21, 2012 at 3:22 pm Reply

    Graduation trip to Taiwan? Can’t complain!! 🙂 that green tea and raspberry mousse cake looks amazing!

    • Daisy@Nevertoosweet March 21, 2012 at 8:50 pm Reply

      Definitely can’t complain so happy 😀 had so much fun ~ I would’ve like the green tea more without the raspberry hehe

  17. cakeboule March 24, 2012 at 7:24 am Reply

    Heaven – everywhere you go!

  18. liannelow March 24, 2012 at 4:21 pm Reply

    Wow! (: All the cakes look so so so so good! You’re making me crave for some good dessert!

    • Daisy@Nevertoosweet March 24, 2012 at 4:32 pm Reply

      YAY that’s my goal ehhe to make u want and crave desserts 🙂

      • liannelow March 24, 2012 at 4:42 pm Reply

        hehe not good! i think i shall go get some tmr! hehe cant wait to see more posts babe!

        • Daisy@Nevertoosweet March 25, 2012 at 4:32 am Reply

          Yay 🙂 remember to show me what you get tomorrow ~ Can’t wait to share more with you and everyone else!

          • liannelow March 25, 2012 at 6:25 pm Reply

            Decided to be good and skip the dessert today! hehe will show u when I do decide to be naughty hehe 😛

  19. bakingaddict March 26, 2012 at 5:04 am Reply

    Wow look at all the desserts…. yes please!! I love the banana and chocolate one.. if they added some peanut butter I would be in heaven 🙂 Everything looks great even the ones you didn’t really like and the macarons look very nice too unlike my sad sorry ones.

Your comments are my encouragement :)